The President’s Volunteer Service Award

The President’s Council on Service and Civic Participation (the Council) was established in 2003 to recognize the valuable contributions volunteers are making in our communities and encourage more people to serve. The Council created the President’s Volunteer Service Award program as a way to thank and honor Americans who, by their demonstrated commitment and example, inspire others to engage in volunteer service.

Winners receive the award based on the amount of hours dedicated to volunteer service.  The award consists of a personalized certificate of achievement, lapel pin and a congratulatory letter from the President of the United States.

We congratulate and gratefully thank all of our Wauconda EMA and CERT members who have dedicated their time and talents to serve the community.


Gold  Award Winners (500+ hours)

Kathy Hall (2016), Anne VanDerBosch (2016), Lee Zimmermann (2016), John Gach (2015), Don Greenwood (2015),  Norm Hall (2015), John McKeown (2015), Traci Smith (2015), Mike Wundsam (2015)

Silver Award Winners (250+ hours)

Greg Durbin (2016), Kai Frano (2016), Bruce Preston (2016), Mark Radtke (2016), Dave Keyser (2015), Eugene Zbikowski (2015), Lynne Backer (2015), Rob Kelly (2015), Robert Boals (2015), Susan Ulrich (2013), Cathy Stanley (2013), Jamison Becmer (2013), Chris Allen (2013), Calvin Clay (2012), Kim Gittings (2012), Chet Stanley (2012), Rosemarie Percox (2012), Steve Rossbach (2012), Jesse Danner (2011), Dave Kleckner (2010)

Bronze Award Winners (100+ hours)

Dan Curtiss (2016), Fran Wroble (2014), Kathy Lersch (2014), Kathy Ragan (2014), Martha Belew (2014), Steve New (2014), Dan Frano (2013), David DeGross (2013), Tom Shaw (2013), Richard Isaachsen (2012), Richard Rooney (2012), Sandy Fitzgerald (2011), Jane Fidler (2011), Steve Deasey (2011), Chris Defontaine (2011), Robin Becmer (2011), Sheryl Ringel (2009), Tom Martin (2008),  Scott Wood (2008), Susan Zentz (2008), Milton Chandler (2008), Sam Martinez (2008), Bob Cook (2007), John Cargill (2007), Karen Murphy (2007), Patrick Murphy (2007), Randy Hooper (2007), Karyn Rios (2007)